Everlast – What It’s Like…


Everlast – What It’s Like… Single from 1998 album “Whitey Ford Sings The Blues”
Büyük izlemek için tıklayın

download
›› Download Link ‹‹  (.flv – Flash Video)

Everlast – What It´s Like Lyrics

“What It’s Like”

We’ve all seen the man at the liquor store beggin’ for your change
The hair on his face is dirty, dreadlocked and full of mange
He ask the man for what he could spare with shame in his eyes
Get a job you fuckin’ slob’s all he replied

[CHORUS]
God forbid you ever had to walk a mile in his shoes
‘Cause then you really might know what it’s like to sing the blues
Then you really might know what it’s like [X4]

Mary got pregnant from a kid named Tom who said he was in love
He said don’t worry about a thing baby doll I’m the man you’ve been dreamin’ of
But three months later he said he won’t date her or return her call
And she sweared god damn if I find that man I’m cuttin’ off his balls
And then she heads for the clinic and she gets some static walkin’ through the doors
They call her a killer, and they call her a sinner, and they call her a whore

[CHORUS]
God forbid you ever had to walk a mile in her shoes
‘Cause then you really might know what it’s like to have to choose
Then you really might know what it’s like [X4]
I’ve seen a rich man beg
I’ve seen a good man sin
I’ve seen a tough man cry
I’ve seen a loser win
And a sad man grin
I heard an honest man lie
I’ve seen the good side of bad
And the down side of up
And everything between
I licked the silver spoon
Drank from the golden cup
Smoked the finest green
I stroked daddies dimes at least a couple of times
Before I broke their heart
You know where it ends
Yo, it usually depends on where you start

I knew this kid named Max
He used to get fat stacks out on the corner with drugs
He liked to hang out late at night
Liked to get shit faced
And keep pace with thugs
Until late one night there was a big gun fight
Max lost his head
He pulled out his chrome .45
Talked some shit
And wound up dead
Now his wife and his kids are caught in the midst of all of his pain
You know it crumbles that way
At least that’s what they say when you play the game

[CHORUS]
God forbid you ever had to wake up to hear the news
‘Cause then you really might know what it’s like to have to lose
Then you really might know what it’s like [X4]
To have to lose…

Other songs

»Everlast – All My Love Lyrics
»Everlast – Angel Lyrics
»Everlast – B-boy Punk Rock 2001 Feat. X-ecutioners Lyrics
»Everlast – Back From The Dead Lyrics
»Everlast – Blues For X’mas Lyrics
»Everlast – Choose Your Poison Lyrics
»Everlast – Come And Get Some Of This Lyrics
»Everlast – Commercial 1 Lyrics
»Everlast – Commercial 2 Lyrics
»Everlast – Danny Boy, Danny Boy Lyrics
»Everlast – Earthquake Lyrics
»Everlast – Everlast Lyrics
»Everlast – Fed Up Lyrics
»Everlast – Feel It Lyrics
»Everlast – Guess Who’s Back Lyrics
»Everlast – Heart Full Of Sorrow Lyrics
»Everlast – House And The Rising Sun Lyrics
»Everlast – House Of Pain Anthem Lyrics
»Everlast – It Ain’t A Crime Lyrics
»Everlast – I’m A Swing It Lyrics
»Everlast – Jump Around Lyrics
»Everlast – Jump Around (pete Rock Remix) Lyrics
»Everlast – Keep It Comin’ Lyrics
»Everlast – Killa Rhyme Klik Lyrics
»Everlast – Life Goes On Lyrics

Osmanische Herberge:
Assalamu aleikum Eric, Im Namen des “Vereins für neue deutsche Muslime e.V.” (Osmanische Herberge) und aller Brüder und Schwestern heissen wir Dich in Deutschland willkommen. Zunächst ein herzliches Dankeschön für die Einladung zum Gespräch und die Gelegenheit, Dich heute in Köln live auf der Bühne erleben zu können.

Everlast:
Va aleikum Salaam, ich freue mich sehr über Euer Kommen.

OH:
Wie oder durch wen hast Du den Islam kennengelernt?

Everlast:
Ich stamme aus einem katholischen Elternhaus und hatte über 10 Jahre hinweg Kontakt zu einer muslimischen Familie namens Bashir. Was mich besonders beeindruckt hat, war die Tatsache, dass man niemals versucht hat, mich vom Islam zu überzeugen. Es gab keinen irgendwie gearteten Versuch, mich zu missionieren. Die Art und Weise des Zusammenlebens dieser Familie war einfach beispielhaft.
Den Glauben an einen Schöpfer hatte ich bereits und mit der Zeit interessierte mich die Religion dieser Familie und ich begann Fragen zu stellen, die mir auch beantwortet wurden. Erst danach wurde mir bewusst, dass der Islam eine Religion ist, die auch Jesus akzeptiert und respektiert, aber nicht als einen Gott, sondern als einen Propheteten aus Fleisch und Blut.
Ebenso fand ich im Islam einen allumfassenden Glauben, der alle Religionen und Propheten in sich vereint. Die Worte und das beispielhafte Leben des heiligen Propheten Muhammad sind ein direkter Weg zu Gott und die Verbindung zur Wahrheit.
“Islam is like gas in the car”

OH:
Wie kannst Du als ein Entertainer des internationalen Showbiz, der auf vielen grossen Bühnen dieser Welt zu Hause ist und mit vielen anderen weltberühmten Musikern zusammenarbeitet, trotzdem Deinen Islam realisieren (fünf Säulen des Islam)?

Everlast:
Meine Shahada habe ich 1996 gesprochen.
“Ramadan is easy for me” aber wie es im Sommer sein wird, wenn die Tage sehr lang sind, weiss ich natürlich noch nicht (lächeln).
Zakat? “Zakat is easy”. Allah gibt mir soviel. Ich schicke es dann den Jungs zu Hause in der Moschee und sie können damit tun, was sie für richtig halten.
Am Anfang habe ich einmal am Tag gebetet, dann wurden es zwei Gebete, dann drei und nun ist es mir zur lieben Gewohnheit geworden, die fünf Gebete zu verrichten. Darüber hinaus bete ich natürlich auch zu besonderen Anlässen und versäumte Gebete hole ich am Abend nach.
Und nun bin ich sehr gespannt darauf, wann es mir mögich sein wird, zur Hadj zu fahren um das Haus Allahs zu besuchen.
Allerdings bedarf es vieler Jahre, um die Disziplin zu erreichen, die man benötigt, um das Ego zu kontrollieren. Ich werde bis zu meinem Lebensende Muslim sein, dabei darf ich mich niemals in Sicherheit wiegen, denn bereits morgen kann mich die Sünde wieder einfangen.
Insofern kann ich mich nicht identifizieren mit den sogenannten “New born Christs”, die behaupten, gestern gerettet worden und heute schon perfekt zu sein.

Ich möchte aber betonen, dass ich hier nichts Negatives über andere Religionen sagen möchte, aber der Islam besitzt diese besondere Magie in allen Dingen.
Das Leben nach den Regeln des Islam ist für mich sehr einfach, denn es entspricht dem gesunden Menschenverstand. Es ist eine Anleitung, wie man richtig handelt.
Es gibt Engel, die unsere Taten und Absichten aufzeichnen, wobei nur die Absichten von Allah bewertet werden, also ist es wichtig viele gute Absichten zu haben.
Allah is mercy, mercy, mercy und darum habe ich das Stück “Mercy” geschrieben.

OH:
Wie war die Reaktion der Menschen in Deinem Umfeld, als sie realisierten, dass Du Muslim geworden bist?

Everlast:
Meine Mutter, die mich katholisch erzogen hat, ist glücklich darüber, dass ich einer Religion folge und meinen Glauben an den einen Gott pflege.

Um einen klaren Kopf zu bekommen, habe ich mich entschieden, meine alte Band zu verlassen und einem Leben mit Alkohol und Nikotin den Rücken zu kehren. Meine Entscheidung wurde von den damaligen Bandmitgliedern respektiert und positiv aufgenommen, wir haben uns im Guten voneinander getrennt.

Es hat mir zu keinem Zeitpunkt Schwierigkeiten bereitet, mich offen zum Islam zu bekennen und es gibt keine Opposition, die erwähnenswert wäre. Einige meiner Freunde sind mittlerweile auch zum Islam gekommen.Inzwischen sind die Hälfte meiner Freunde Muslime.

OH:
Nach der Trennung von “House Of Pain”, deiner alten Band, hast Du an “Supernatural” dem neuen Album von Carlos Santana mitgewirkt, welches sensationelle neun Grammys eingefahren hat. Wie kam es zur Zusammenarbeit?

Everlast:
Eines Tages bekam ich wie aus dem Nichts einen Telefonanruf von Carlos, wobei er mich fragte, ob ich nicht einen Song für sein neues Album habe.
Von da an ging alles sehr schnell.

Den Song “Put Your Lights On” hatte ich zuvor auf der Terasse meines Hauses in den Bergen über der Stadt geschrieben. Inspiriert wurde ich von den Lichtern der Stadt, welche bei Sonnenuntergang nach und nach angingen. Wobei ich mir nicht sicher war ob ich das “la ilaha il allah” auch in den Song aufnehmen sollte, denn ich wollte nicht Allah’s Worte verkaufen. Aber Carlos liebte diesen Song und wollte ihn unbedingt haben.

OH:
Was hat es auf sich mit dem Gerücht, dass “Supernatural” aus einem Traum entstanden ist?

Everlast:
Es ist wahr. Carlos hat mir erzählt, dass er von einem Lichtwesen, einem Engel geträumt hat, welcher ihn aufforderte, mich zu kontaktieren.

OH:
Alhamdulillah, dem ist nichts mehr hinzuzufügen.
Möchtest Du zum Abschluss unseren Lesern noch etwas mitteilen?

Everlast:
Es braucht nicht jemanden wie mich, um den Islam zu verbreiten. Allah braucht mich nicht zu seiner Verteidigung. Wenn Du Gott suchst, findest du den Islam.
“Keep your faith”
Bewahrt euren Glauben und haltet an der Wahrheit fest.

OH:
Lieber Eric vielen Dank für das ausführliche Interview.
Mögen tausende Ströme von Allah’s Licht jeden Tag in Dein Herz fliessen und Deinen Weg erhellen.

ENGLİSH
Interviewer -Assalamu aleikum Eric, in the name of the Association for New German Muslims (Osmanische Herberge) and all brothers and sisters, we welcome you to Germany. First of all, thank you very much for the invitation to the discussion and the opportunity to be able to experience you today live on stage in Cologne.

Eric -Va aleikum Salaam, I am very happy that you were able to come.

Interviewer -How or through whom did you become acquainted with Islam?

Eric -I come from a Catholic family and had over 10 years contact with a Muslim family named Bashir. What particularly impressed me was the fact that they never tried to convince me about Islam. They never attempted to convert me. The way this family lived together was simply exemplary. I already had faith in a creator, and with time the religion of this family began to interest me, and I began to ask questions, which were also answered. Only after that did I become conscious that Islam is a religion which also accepts and respects Jesus, but not as a God, rather as a Prophet made of flesh and blood. Likewise, I found Islam to be all-encompassing, uniting all religions and Prophets in itself. The words and the exemplary life of the Holy Prophet Muhammad are a direct way to God and the connection to the truth. “Islam is like gas into the car.”

Interviewer: How can you as a musiciann, who is at home on many big stages in this world and who co-operates with many other world-famous artists actually practice your Islam (the five pillars of Islam)?

Eric -As for my Shahada, I said it in 1996. Ramadan is easy for me. However, I don’t know yet how it will be in the summer when the days are very long, I don’t know yet, of course (smile). Zakat? Zakat is easy. Allah gives me so much. I then send it home to the brothers in the mosque, and they can do with it what they consider to be right. In the beginning I performed the ritual prayers once a day, then two prayers, then three and now it has become a dear habit for me to perform the five prayers every day. Beyond that, I also pray, of course, on specific occasions, and missed prayers I make up in the evening. And now I am very anxious to find out when it will be possible for me to go on Hajj and visit the house of Allah. Concerning control of the ego, however, that requires many years to achieve the necessary discipline. I will be a Muslim up to the end of my life, but at the same time, I will never be able to live in the security of that, because there’’s always the possibility that tomorrow sin could entrap me again. To that extent I cannot identify myself with the so-called “Born-again Christians,” who claim to have been saved yesterday and are already perfect today. I would like to stress, however, that I do not want to say anything negative about other religions, but rather it is just that Islam possesses this special magic in all things. Life according to the rules of Islam is very simple for me, because it corresponds to the healthy human understanding. It is guidance as to how one acts correctly. There are angels, who record our acts and intentions, whereby only the intentions are evaluated by Allah. In other words, it is important to have many good intentions. Allah is mercy, mercy, mercy, and therefore I wrote the piece “Mercy.”

Interviewer -What was the reaction of the people around you when they realized that you had become Muslim?

Eric -My mother, who raised me as a Catholic, is happy over the fact that I follow a religion and cultivate my faith in the one God. In order to get a clear head, I decided to leave my old band and turn my back on a life of alcohol and nicotine. My decision was respected and seen as positive by the band members at that time. We parted on good terms. At no point in time have I had difficulty to admitting that I am Muslim, and there is no opposition that is worth mentioning. Meanwhile, about half of my friends are Muslim.

Interviewer -After the separation from “House of Pain,” your old band, you participated in SUPERNATURAL, the new album of Carlo Santana, which won 9 nine sensational Grammies. How did this co-operation come about?

Eric -One day I received out of nowhere I received a call from Carlos, whereby he asked me if I didn’’t have a song for his new album. From then on everything went very fast. I had already written the song, “”Put your lights on” on the balcony of my house in the mountains overlooking the city. I was inspired by the lights of the city that came on one by one at sunset . However, I was not sure at that point if I should also record ” LA ILAHA IL ALLAH ” in the song, because I did not want to sell Allah’s words. But Carlos loved this song and absolutely wanted to have it.

Interviewer -What about the rumor that SUPERNATURAL originated from a dream?

Eric – It is true. Carlos told me that he dreamed about a being of light, an angel, who told him to contact me. Alhamdulillah [thanks be to God], there is nothing more to be added to that.

Interviewer -Would you like to share something with our readers in conclusion?

Eric – There is no need for someone like me to spread Islam. Allah does not need me to defend Him. If you look for God, you will find Islam. Keep your faith and hold tight to the truth.

Interviewer -Dear Eric, thank you for the detailed interview. May thousands of rays of Allah’s light flow into your heart every day and illuminate your way.

German original © Osmanische Herberge, 2001; English translation © 2001, Allison Bramblett and Dr. Alan Godlas.

Bu metni türkçeye çevirerek bana destek olmak isteyen arkadaş varsa buyursun.

One response to “Everlast – What It’s Like…

Bir Cevap Yazın

